Director and Chief Executive Officer, SIMS


In 2009 Professor Peter Steinberg was appointed the inaugural Director and CEO of SIMS. He is concurrently Professor in the School of Biological Earth and Environmental Sciences and Director of the Centre for Marine Bio-Innovation at UNSW Australia, and Co-Director for the Advanced Environmental Biotechnology Centre, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.

Professor Steinberg has brought to SIMS his extensive research and academic experience together with commercial knowledge. He has been a Fulbright Scholar, a Queen Elizabeth II Fellow and CEO of an ASX listed biotechnology company focusing on the development of novel antibacterials from marine organisms.

Professor Steinberg is a distinguished researcher who has more than 130 international publications. His research interests include seaweed ecology, diseases of marine organisms, biofouling and antifouling, bacterial biofilm biology, marine chemical ecology and marine biotechnology.

General Manager, SIMS


Mark Scognamiglio was appointed General Manager of SIMS in 2016, having held the role of Finance Director prior to that appointment.

Mark commenced with SIMS in 2007.  As his responsibilities have been broad reaching during his nine years at the Institute, Mark brings invaluable operational and strategic knowledge to his new role as General Manager.

Board Of Directors

The SIMS Board of Directors consists of one representative from each of the four founding universities, the Director/CEO of SIMS, the Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee and two independent directors.

Current Members:
Dr John Keniry AM
Alec Brennan AM
Alan Cameron AO
Professor Emma Johnston
Bob Debus AM
Professor Judith Smith
Professor Peter Nelson
Professor David Raftos
Professor Laurent Rivory
Professor Peter Steinberg

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) has senior scientists from all of the institutions associated with SIMS. The four founding universities each have three representatives on the SAC, with all of the other institutions having one representative.

It is the role of the SAC to act as an advisory committee to the Board of Directors regarding all research and educational activities that are undertaken at SIMS. The SAC is responsible for approving all research projects that take place through SIMS and works in conjunction with the Chief Operating Officer to ensure that the correct equipment and facilities are available.

Current SAC Members:

Prof. Pauline Ross (University of Sydney)

Deputy Chair
Assoc. Prof. Will Figueira (University of Sydney)

Representatives of Founding Members
Prof Maria Byrne (University of Sydney)
Prof David Booth (University of Technology, Sydney)
Dr Martina Doblin (University of Technology, Sydney)
Associate Professor Justin Seymour (University of Technology, Sydney)
Prof Rob Harcourt (Macquarie University)
A/ Prof Paul Gribbin (SIMS Sydney Harbour Research Project)
A/Prof. Moninya Roughan (NSW IMOS)
Prof Peter Steinberg (SIMS)
Prof Iain Suthers (UNSW Australia)
A/Prof Ian Turner (UNSW Australia)
Dr Ana Vila-Concejo (University of Sydney)
A/Prof Jane Williamson (Macquarie University)
A/Prof Alistair Poore (UNSW Australia)

Representatives of Associate Members
Dr. Shane Ahyong (Australian Museum)
Dr. Doug Cato (Defence Science and Technology Organisation)
Prof. Andy Davis (University of Wollongong)
Dr Natalie Moltschaniwskyj (NSW Department of Primary Industries)
Dr. Tim Pritchard (Office of Environment and Heritage)